top of page
shutterstock_1936385779.jpg

PSYCHIC TROUBLES

  • One in eight people in the world have a mental disorder, or 1 billion people

  • Mental disorders cause a major alteration in thinking, emotion regulation or behavior.

  • There are many types of mental disorders.

  • Effective prevention and treatment options exist.

  • Most sick people do not have access to effective care.

A psychological disorder is characterized by a major alteration, on a clinical level, of an individual's cognitive state, emotion regulation or behavior.
It is usually accompanied by feelings of distress or functional impairments in important areas. There are many types of disorders also referred to as mental health problems. This latter, broader expression includes psychological disorders, psychosocial disabilities and other mental states associated with a feeling of distress, functional impairments or a risk of significant self-aggressive behavior.

TOGETHER LET’S FIGHT against the isolation of people with mental suffering

DONATE

MENTAL HEALTH CHALLENGES IN FRANCE SINCE 2021

HERE IS SOME NUMBERS RECORDED BY THE FRENCH MUTUALITY OBSERVATORY IN 2021

observatoire-mutualite-francaise-key-figures-2021.jpg

THE DIFFERENT TYPES OF PSYCHIC DISORDERS
(quantified data dating from 2019)

Anxiety disorders (Anxiety, phobias and OCD)

In 2019, 301 million people had an anxiety disorder, including 58 million children and adolescents. Anxiety disorders are characterized by excessive fear and worry and related behavioral problems. Symptoms are severe enough to cause significant distress or major functional impairments. There are several types of anxiety disorders: generalized anxiety disorder (manifested by excessive worry), panic disorder (manifested by panic attacks), social anxiety disorder (manifested by excessive fear and worry in social situations), separation anxiety disorder (manifested by fear or anxiety at the idea of being separated from people with whom one has a deep emotional connection), etc. Effective psychological treatments exist and, depending on the age and severity of the disorder, drug treatments can also be considered.

Health systems and social support

Health systems do not yet adequately respond to the needs of people with mental disorders and face a glaring lack of resources. Across the world, there is a gaping gap between treatment availability and therapeutic needs. What’s more, the treatments administered are often of poor quality. For example, only 29% of people with psychosis and a third of people with depression receive formal mental health care.

Furthermore, individuals living with a mental disorder need social support, particularly to form and maintain personal, family and social relationships. They may also need help with training, finding employment and housing, and taking part in other interesting activities.

bottom of page

top of page
shutterstock_1936385779.jpg

TROUBLES PSYCHIQUES

  • Une personne sur huit dans le monde présente un trouble mental, soit 1 milliard d’individus

  • Les troubles mentaux engendrent une altération majeure de la pensée, de la régulation des émotions ou du comportement.

  • Il existe de nombreux types de troubles mentaux.

  • Des options de prévention et de traitement efficaces existent.

  • La plupart des personnes malades n’ont pas accès à des soins efficaces.

Un trouble psychique se caractérise par une altération majeure, sur le plan clinique, de l’état cognitif, de la régulation des émotions ou du comportement d’un individu.
Il s’accompagne généralement d’un sentiment de détresse ou de déficiences fonctionnelles dans des domaines importants. Il existe de nombreux types de troubles désignés aussi sous le nom de problèmes de santé mentale. Cette dernière expression, plus large, englobe les troubles psychiques, les handicaps psychosociaux et d’autres états mentaux associés à un sentiment de détresse, à des déficiences fonctionnelles ou à un risque de comportement auto-agressif importants.

ENSEMBLE LUTTONS  contre l'isolement des personnes en souffrance mentale 

FAITES UN DON

LES ENJEUX DE LA SANTE MENTALE EN FRANCE DEPUIS 2021

VOICI QUELQUES DONNEES CHIFFREES ENREGISTREES PAR L'OBSERVATOIRE DE LA MUTUALITE FRANCAISE EN 2021

observatoire-mutualite-francaise-chiffre-cles-2021.jpg

LES DIFFERENTS TYPES DE TROUBLES PSYCHIQUES
(données chiffrées datant de 2019)

Troubles anxieux (Anxiété, phobies et TOC)

En 2019, 301 millions de personnes présentaient un trouble anxieux, dont 58 millions d’enfants et d’adolescents. Les troubles anxieux se caractérisent par une peur et une inquiétude excessive et par des troubles du comportement connexes. Les symptômes sont suffisamment graves pour entraîner un sentiment de détresse important ou des déficiences fonctionnelles majeures. Il existe plusieurs types de troubles anxieux : trouble d’anxiété généralisée (se manifeste par une inquiétude excessive), trouble panique (se manifeste par des attaques de panique), trouble d’anxiété sociale (se manifeste par une peur et une inquiétude excessive dans des situations sociales), trouble d’anxiété de séparation (se manifeste par une peur ou une anxiété à l’idée d’être séparé des personnes avec lesquelles on a un lien affectif profond), etc. Des traitements psychologiques efficaces existent et, en fonction de l’âge et de la gravité du trouble, des traitements médicamenteux peuvent aussi être envisagés.

Systèmes de santé et soutien social

Les systèmes de santé ne répondent pas encore de manière adéquate aux besoins des personnes qui présentent des troubles mentaux et font face à un manque criant de ressources. Partout dans le monde, il existe un écart béant entre l’offre de traitements et les besoins thérapeutiques. Qui plus est, les traitements administrés sont souvent de mauvaise qualité. Par exemple, seulement 29 % des personnes présentant une psychose et un tiers des personnes atteintes de dépression reçoivent des soins de santé mentale structurés.

Par ailleurs, les individus qui vivent avec un trouble mental ont besoin d’un soutien social, notamment pour nouer et entretenir des relations personnelles, familiales et sociales. Ils peuvent aussi avoir besoin d’aide pour suivre une formation, trouver un emploi et un logement, et prendre part à d’autres activités intéressantes.

bottom of page